Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Metal unearthed in Tenerife….

Kev gets down with his Metal friends....geddit?

Kev gets down with his Metal friends….geddit?

This post is wholly inspired by my Metal buddy in the States, Stone from METAL ODYSSEY.  Stone often posts cool articles about CD’s he’s recently purchased or Metal Memorabilia in his collection, so today, I thought I’d do the same.

CD shops are a dying breed, and when I say dying I mean we’re talking Dodo territory. So imagine my surprise and delight when I discovered one tucked away in the Centro Commercial near our apartment in Puntolarga here in Tenerife this morning! What’s more, it even had a METAL section. Well, it wasn’t very well stocked to be honest, but this little beauty caught my eye:

Nostradamus on my holiday sofa.....the album, not the guy, obviously...

Nostradamus on my holiday sofa…..the album, not the guy, obviously…

Yep, a double CD of metal mayhem from Judas Priest – the concept album ‘Nostradamus‘, and at only 11.99 euros, a pretty good deal in this neck of the woods.  A bit of creative wiring with an old DVD player found in the rented apartment here, and voila, Metal sounds fill my holiday home – result!

I’ve always had a soft spot for Priest, I saw them as a mere support band to Budgie back in 1974, but even then you could see they were going to be huge. They were certainly a big influence on Witch Cross. But I’ve also got a soft spot for Record shops…somewhere to browse in the real world, to hold the jewel cases or sleeves in your own hands, read the liner notes, open the gatefolds, admire the art work…use them or lose them people!

Kev Moore

February 21, 2013 - Posted by | Metal, Music, Rock, Thoughts, Witch Cross, Writing | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Hey fella,

    I too was at the Budgie/Priest gig – long time ago, huh?

    Looking forward to seeing you (and doing some shows together) next week fella!

    Take care,

    Stef

    Comment by Stef | February 21, 2013

  2. Dude, we saw some awesome bands back then didn’t we? :-)
    Likewise mate – next week we’ll be rocking!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 21, 2013

  3. Thanks for the cool Metal salute Kev! \m/ Nice Judas Priest find you found… you never know where Metal is lurking around the corner, LOL! That’s a very fun pic you posted too :)

    I needed a ‘pick-me-up’ like this today… cause the movers made a total mess of my CD and memorabilia collection! I’ll be organizing and (in some cases) salvaging for awhile… Metal be thy name!

    Have a blast Headbanging with Witch Cross! \m/\m/

    Comment by Metal Odyssey | February 21, 2013

  4. You’re very welcome mate! \m/\m/ – I sympathize with your tribulations man, I’m forever trying to keep my collection in some kind of alphabetical order (I gave up with genres a long time ago- my tastes are too eclectic!) I can’t imagine letting removal guys loose on my stuff – woah! way too scary!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 21, 2013

  5. Scary is the key word here, Kev! I opened up a box of my CD’s last night, only to find that the movers packed a water bottle inside it… and yes, I lost some liner notes. The CD’s themselves I just wiped off. What were they thinking? Ugh! :o

    Comment by Metal Odyssey | February 21, 2013

  6. ah man, that SUCKS!

    Comment by kevmoore | February 22, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

