Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Off-topic: Mother’s Day

Joyce Moore

Joyce Moore

Not a day I’ve really been bothered with for many, many years, having put it to the back of my mind, losing my Mum to breast cancer at the age of 52 over a quarter of a century ago. As I passed that milestone myself a couple of years back, it finally dawned on me just how young that really was to die. I remember her bravery in the face of what must have been a devastating couple of years for her. Time, called so often the great healer, is insidious however, and seeks to draw a veil over her features, obfuscating and obstructing, so she fades further from focus as the years roll by. Nowadays, I consciously make the effort to recall her, her laugh, her looks, her personality. I mourn the fact that my children never knew her. But today is Mother’s Day, and this is a day to remember her, and recall her, with love.

Cherish your Mothers – You only get one.

Kev Moore

March 10, 2013 - Posted by | Thoughts, Writing | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Your’e right Kev, cherish your Mothers. If I could change all my guitars for one hour with my Mother than I need not one second to think about, what to do.

    Comment by Wilhelm Eric Berwanger | March 10, 2013

  2. You’re so right Kev – and it’s so sad that your Mum passed away at that very young age, without being able to share in your later life experiences. I’m thankful that my Mum was able to do this well into her 80s.

    A year ago, however, our own Mum was very ill and was by then a nursing home resident after time in hospital, having suffered a stroke and undergone surgery due to diabetes. She had lost her independence and mobility, though we did all we could to help her adjust to life within that community of care.

    We knew that Mothering Sunday 2012 was very likely to be the last such day we would spend with her. We’d done this throughout our adult lives, devoting that special day to her regardless of where we might have been living at the time, so hopefully showing our respect & appreciation for everything she’d done for us over the years.

    So it proved, as she died only a few weeks later, but we can carry forward her spirit, and treasure the many photos & memories that all become more precious with time.

    We’re also lucky that my Mum was a gifted (ex-Royal Crown Derby) artist and spent a good 25 years working independenly at home, creating many beautiful pieces – for family, for general sale and for charity.

    We can always picture her, working away in her studio, just by looking at those items we collected or particularly those she gave to us to mark birthdays or special events.

    To anyone else reading this, never forget or be too busy to tell your Mum (& others very close to you) that you love her. It’s the very least you can do – especially today.

    Comment by David Mortimer | March 10, 2013

  3. Lovely picture of your Mum Kev. Bet she would be proud of you and your family.I rang my Mum this morning as I do on most days.
    I do know I am so lucky to still have her,and she will be 87 in May.
    Lost my Dad at the age of 69 which these days isn’t that old.
    She is very resilient and only a year ago moved to sheltered accomadation after 60 odd years in the same house.
    All Mums go through a lot in their life.
    Cherish your Mothers – You only get one. That is something I have been remembering today.

    Comment by Tony | March 10, 2013

  4. Your closing words are so incredibly true. I’m very sorry your mom passed away so young. I have no doubt she is always looking upon your grand achievements in life.

    Comment by Metal Odyssey | March 11, 2013

  5. Thanks Stone…I sure hope she is. She did at least see me turn professional as a musician. I know she was proud of that!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 11, 2013

  6. Tony/Dave – thanks for your kind comments guys!

    Comment by kevmoore | March 11, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

