Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Building a dream

A musical interlude during construction

A musical interlude during construction

In the Muso community, we have an expression, used when a drummer is getting a bit carried away with his fills – “building a shed”.

I found myself worthy of this tagline quite literally this past week, as I’ve been working up a good honest sweat building my own “shed” – A sound studio in our apartment for recording and songwriting, just big enough to accommodate me, and perhaps one other foolish enough to collaborate with me from time to time!

The remit I gave myself was simple: it had to be compact, stylish, and above all, as soundproof as I could make it under the circumstances. My first mistake was deciding to do it myself!

Although I’ve amazed myself with the way it’s beginning to turn out, I’ve got muscles hurting I didn’t know I had, and blisters threaten every time I turn the damn screwdriver…but I know the minute I sit down in my black leather chair for the first time when it’s all completed, I’ll feel a sense of achievement that would surely be missing if I’d put the job out to someone else.

With a nostalgic nod to the past, I’m going for powder blue and black as the colour scheme – chosen because the last two studios I’ve been involved in creating, and where my old band TUBELESS HEARTS recorded most of their stuff – were in these colours. So far, the framework is up, and the door is hung, giving me a “vestibule” that separates the studio from the rest of our home, and a lowered ceiling to insulate us from the neighbours above. As my recording process now almost exclusively revolves around an iMac and a workstation, I only need a control room, which for the most part will see me surrounded by a worktop, 5 guitars and speakers…heaven!

I have created this new site with the aim of it becoming the focal point for all my musical activities. I hope to share the creation process with you, and at the same time make it an outlet for my solo releases. The finished product, if you will. From time to time I’ll post videos related to my performances with various bands over the years and songs and demos for you to listen to, and comment on. but for now…it’s back to building the dream!

Kev Moore

Photo by Miki

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Long live to this new blog Kevin !

    Comment by reinedespommes | November 7, 2008

  2. (life seams to be more just)

    Comment by reinedespommes | November 7, 2008

  3. PS : Piou is very desappointed : he says : “I can’t see him on the picture”
    I like very much the first video.

    Comment by reinedespommes | November 7, 2008

  4. Merci pour les beaucoups de comments, Pomme! pardonnnez-moi Piou, pour le photo- Parlez avec Miki, le photographeur!! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | November 7, 2008

  5. Kev

    Congratulations on the impending birth of your new creative haven!! Sounds is if it’ll be just what I imagine one needs nowadays – I’m sure it’s a far cry from the audio studios of the past!

    I love the way you and Miki have turned your living space into art-making spaces. Of course, Susan and I have done the same, sometimes to the chagrin of our kids (how to explain that a TV room would work much better as a painting studio). But you have to have priorities and you guys have the right ones.

    Enjoy!

    Comment by Bob Cornelis | November 7, 2008

  6. Thank you, Bob! Its true, its a far cry from the old days..I’m sure you’ve seen many amazing changes in technology in your chosen field too. When I think of the vast mixing desks we used to have, humungous great reel-to-reel tape machines and huge drum rooms, it’s quite incredible to think what I will be able to achieve in this “compact and bijou” place!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 7, 2008

  7. Good luck with your new studio, Kev Moore! I can’t wait to see it finished, so that you can start writing new songs and new music inspired by my or other artists’ paintings!

    @ Bob
    It;s quite of the chagrin of Kevin’s kids and of my family (and perhaps Susan’s too in the future!), because now when they visit they have to sleep in the motor home! But well, we are working right now on getting more space for them…

    Comment by Miki | November 8, 2008

  8. Thanks, baby! 😉

    Comment by kevmoore | November 8, 2008

  9. Glad for you bro!
    Keep the dream alive!
    Dreams are manifest by doing. That’s all we got. We don’t got anything else. We don’t got our family. We don’t got our things. We don’t got anything. All we got is the “do” of living life in the present moment. Then it is gone. So we keep on “doing” to keep our dreams alive.

    Comment by Mike on the road | November 9, 2008

  10. I will be happy to sleep in the motor home knowing that Kev’s dream studio is coming true!! Congratulations and I’ll look forward to visiting your musical creations in your new “home”!

    Comment by Susan | November 10, 2008

  11. Thanks Susan! New tracks coming up on the blog shortly.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 10, 2008

  12. Good luck with your studio, Kevin! and you are right, if you want something well done, better do it yourself…

    Comment by ivdanu | November 13, 2008

  13. And I LOVED! the videoclip: both images and music. Fantastic!

    Comment by ivdanu | November 13, 2008

  14. Many thanks Danu!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 14, 2008


Leave a Reply

