Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Derby County Blues

ram-and-red-dog

It’s finally arrived – Fan Fayre for the Commons People hits the streets on April 25th, and will be available in TWO very special editions:

Firstly the “RedDog” limited edition. Only 500 of these will be made, featuring “the Red Dog and the Ram” interior artwork as shown here! Available online in our store and other outlets to be announced.

Secondly, the Derby County officially endorsed version, soon to be available through the club website and shop.

Today, listen to the full version of another track from the album, a tale of a hapless gambler who is losing everything betting on his beloved Rams to win in THAT Premiership season – so bad do things become, he wrestles with his conscience and decides to bet on them to lose….the only problem is – it’s the Newcastle game! Enjoy “Derby County Blues”!

Derby County Blues

It’s early Friday morning, the sun is coming up

I’m stood outside the bookies, I’m here to try my luck

They say this game’s a tough one, but I’ll give it my best shot

4-0 down and losin’, never seen the Spurs so hot

O lord, what am I gonna do

I’m stood here with my head down

Save me from the Derby County blues

First I pulled out a fiver I’d had a golden tip

A man I know in Anfield said that Liverpool had dipped

I think it was a wind-up and I was non too pleased

The six the reds put past us were easy as the breeze

O lord, which club should I choose?

I’m a Ramsfan ’til I die, boys

But save me from the Derby County blues

Somebody score more!

Well I started out with 3 grand, now 2 of them are lost

We’ve got one long premier season as we’ve found to our cost

I know what I am doing, but I feel such a louse

If I don’t back the Rams to lose I’ll have to sell my house

O lord, what am I gonna do

Lets throw out the deadwood

Save me from the Derby County blues

I had to sell my season ticket, got a tenner for my shirt

I’m prayin that we’re losin’ and I’m in a world of hurt

It’s a grand back for a tenner

If I win this I’m in luck

Then the Rams go beat Newcastle and I feel like such a schmuck

O lord, what am I gonna do

I’ll be back in church next Sunday

Save me from the Derby County blues

© Kev Moore 2009

Artwork © Miki 2009

April 7, 2009 - Posted by | Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Writing | , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. A very nice song, with my favorite rythm…
    Please, Kevin, let me have a special edition !
    I’ll send an email 😉

    Comment by Joël | April 7, 2009

  2. Allez les Rams!
    Listening live on Radio Wales…

    Comment by Miki | April 8, 2009

  3. Je viens juste d’arriver… 😦

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  4. dur dur…

    Comment by Miki | April 8, 2009

  5. Nous n’en sommes qu’à la 1ère demi-heure… 😉

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  6. oups…. 😦

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  7. 3 – 0 … so depressed!

    Comment by Miki | April 8, 2009

  8. and one more… what a hard moment !

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  9. Yes ! 🙂

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  10. Grande déception, Miki, mais Cardif est la 6ème équipe du Championnat… Redoutable adversaire !

    Comment by Joël | April 8, 2009

  11. mais ce ne sont même pas des anglais!
    Bon, un nouveau jour ensoleille s’est levé sur l’Andalousie, la défaite est oubliée et on espère pour la prochaine victoire!
    je suppose que le weekend “ole!” commence pour toi, Joël… je t’envie!

    Comment by Miki | April 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

