Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Staying “on song”

On stage with BC Sweet

On stage with BC Sweet

I rarely perform shows in Spain these days, perhaps the occasional jam with friends in the beach bars and suchlike, but the fact is, running a few numbers solo is quite important when it comes to maintaining a certain standard. So every now and then, I accept an invitation to play a local show.

This time it was at Club Oasis, only 10 minutes drive from home. I spent a lot of time planning the set, not because I needed to, but because it’s good for me to stretch myself a little. With the Christie rehearsals for the European tour coming up, I performed around 10 Christie songs, plus a taster of the Sweet show I did in Berlin with the guys last week. Then I threw in 4 original songs, two of which “The Co-op Cow”, and “The Turre Stomp” received their premieres.

These solo shows are the only chance I really get to showcase the ever-growing canon of self-penned songs, and I’ll try some different ones the next time I take to a local stage. It affords a great opportunity to “road-test” them, as we have an obligation in the band(s) to perform the hits, and the chances to play new material are rare.

From a selfish point of view, the odd solo gig here and there is my chance to play just what I want, whether the audience want it or not!

Kev Moore

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | Music, Recording, Rock, Touring, Writing | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I attended some of Kevin’s solo gigs, and I must say that i was blown away: his presence and charisma on stage is immense, and “solo” does not describe at all the impression one gets: it sounds and looks like as if there was a complete band on stage!
    I am thinking of making to him the gift of a saxophone next Christmas, as I feel that a saxophonist is missing in his solo band 🙂
    Oui, oui, Kev Moore, more work is coming!

    Comment by Miki | May 13, 2009


Leave a Reply

