Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Bosnia and HURTS-ogovina!

Miki and I have just returned from our travels around Cadiz and Portugal, but more words and pics from that adventure later. Arriving back at our other place in Albir last week,  Miki visited family and I flew to the UK from Alicante and began a crazy 36 hours, where I visited no less than 7 countries!  Incredibly it was all in aid of 2  one hour shows, one in Banja Luka, Bosnia, ( a festival supporting Uriah Heep) and one near Bremen in Germany, with BC Sweet.

My journey: Fly from Alicante to Stansted Thursday night and overnight at the airport Hilton, then fly from Stansted to Graz in Austria on Friday with the rest of the band, where we were picked up and driven 600 kilometers through Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, and finally Bosnia, arriving at the gig around 10 pm at night. getting out of the bus, I promptly threw up under a tree, and wondered if I would make it onto the stage. after leaving the lads to soundcheck, the driver took me to our hotel (or so I thought – more on that later) where I had a wash and exactly 10 minutes sleep to try and jump start my system. Somehow, it worked, and I returned to the gig in time to be interviewed for Bosnian TV and get on stage for the televised show. See a couple of songs from the show by visiting our My Space videos.

Following a shaky, but surprisingly energetic performance, we were whisked off to the hotel, to find that we were not booked in at all. Apparently, I had been given a room at random after surrendering my passport – a move I was starting to view as unwise….

I managed to get my stuff out, and reclaim my passport, and we all went off, exhausted, into the night to search for a hotel, eventually finding sleep in the imaginatively-named Hotel Bosna. After an early breakfast, we were sheperded onto the road again and driven for a further 4 hours to Sarajevo, which thankfully now has a crater-less runway, and we flew to Cologne in Germany, landing an hour late around 7pm Saturday evening. We had a three hour drive ahead of us, and an onstage time of midnight, which somehow, we managed, even turning in a good show. The other lads drew the short straw, and after just having time to shower, headed back into the night at 2am, driving to Dusseldorf in order to fly to Stansted at 6am Sunday morning. I fared better, having a positively leisurely 10am breakfast, and was driven the 2 and a half hours to Paderborn airport, eventually arriving back in Alicante at 9pm Sunday night. And they call this the glamorous life!

Kev Moore

July 25, 2009 - Posted by | Music, Recording, Rock, Touring, Video, Writing | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Truly a triumph of the human spirit, which is stronger than the body. . .in your case.

    Comment by Susan Cornelis | July 29, 2009

  2. I can no more imagine doing something like this than climbing Everest. You are to be commended… and then put to bed.

    Comment by bobcornelis | August 3, 2009

  3. I often fear for my sanity sometimes Bob, when I blithely accept these gigs, knowing full well the consequences!

    Comment by kevmoore | August 6, 2009

  4. Hello, Kevin !
    I have been in Banja Luka, a long time ago… I did not met the same mood ; I looked at your videos, what an energy ! Life is there !

    Comment by Joël | August 8, 2009

  5. Hi Joel! – yes, I imagine it was a time of greater hardship before – but like nature reasserting itself through abandoned concrete, the human spirit prevails eventually, given time.

    Comment by kevmoore | August 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

