Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Los Mezcaleros @ Harley D’s – Carboneras

CIMG4935

This stunningly beautiful machine had made the journey down the coast from Malaga for the gig.

As a professional musician, lucky enough to be able to perform at large venues with the likes of BC Sweet and Christie,  I’m always aware of a natural downside, and that is the infrequency of these large shows. While it gives me a great quality of life, allowing me to spend nearly all of my time with Miki, instead of leaving her a “road widow”, the musician within me yearns for the stage on occasion. So when Mario, a friend who runs a great local band called Los Mezcaleros asked if I wanted to play at the motorbike-crazy Harley D’s bar just down the coast last Sunday, I was happy to oblige.

I offered up three songs I wanted to do with them, “Fire down Below” a Bob Seger song covered by one of my favourite vocalists, Jess Roden, and 2 songs from Graham Oliver of Saxon, whom I toured with a few years back – “Strong Arm of the Law” and “Wheels of Steel” -both biker favourites!

CIMG4925

Nothing beats an outdoor gig on a nice sunny Spanish afternoon....

We had a large contingent of Harley riders from Germany in attendance, who’d made the trek to Spain. In addition to running the three songs mentioned above, it was great to play ‘on the edge’ – jamming a whole load of songs I barely knew, but liked, in front of an appreciative audience.

Kev Moore

November 8, 2009 - Posted by | Music, Rock, Touring, Writing | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a very cool and unusual scene! Hard to beat rock and roll combined with a bunch of Harleys I suppose.

    I can’t imagine getting up in front of an audience (bikers at that!) and playing a lot of music I don’t know. I guess that’s for the professionals like yourself – still, maybe a little nerve wracking?

    Comment by Bob Cornelis | November 8, 2009

  2. Hey Bob!

    It can be nerve-wracking…but that’s part of the appeal for me in these kind of shows. The buzz from the big shows is self-evident, and of course requires you to (usually!) put across a polished performance, but the organic nature of feeling your way with the music and your fellow musicians in a gig like this one is where the excitement lies.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

