Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

The Long Journey of The Long Walk Home

As a performer, I am lucky enough to have featured on a number of CD’s by established names throughout my career, and even a couple of CD’s from bands of my own. But the journey I have taken as a songwriter and solo artist is a tougher one. It is very difficult to try and market yourself to record companies as an individual, and as the music business changes with ever more alarming rapidity, I took the decision to release my first all-original solo album via the creative commons route with the web label Jamendo. This means that I can offer it to the general public free of charge, while Jamendo work on my behalf to place my music commercially to the corporate sector (films, videos, shops and restaurants, etc)

The album has its beginnings in 2007, and the bulk of it was written in 2008.  I wanted to ‘set it free’ so to speak, so I can move on and continue writing new material. I believe I will only continue to have the energy to create as long as I know it will have a chance to be heard, so it was with this in mind that I decided to give people the opportunity to download this album free of charge. By clicking on the link in the sidebar, you can access the download page for the album, and also view tracklistings and lyrics. It is an eclectic mix of styles, and I make no apology for that. Freeing yourself of traditional music business restraints means finding your creative freedom!

Kev Moore

Album cover artwork by Miki

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Touring, Writing | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Kev

    Congratulations on the release! We’ll be downloading it…

    This is a really interesting concept to me. I’ve been reading and thinking about it in terms of my own artwork lately.

    One photographer I respect (Brooks Jensen) told of an experiment he made where he committed to giving away for free a certain number of prints each month. What he found is that it actually led to print sales, gallery shows, etc. He also thinks artwork is way overpriced making it unaffordable for the average person. People collect books, music, stamps, etc because they can add to their collection so cheaply. Very few can afford to collect art.

    But radically changing how we value our work in terms of dollars can be very difficult, as I can tell from your post it has been for you. The music world has changed so completely that I guess you have really no choice. Visual artists are hanging on to traditional pricing strategies desperately hoping to find the few out there who can afford it. As you say so well, though, the energy to create comes from the knowledge that it will be heard (or seen).

    I’d like to see that world explore some of the innovative concepts like the one you are embarking on. I hope it works out well for you!

    Comment by Bob Cornelis | November 23, 2009

  2. Thanks for your good wishes Bob. It’s true what you say, the speed at which the music world is evolving leaves most of us struggling to catch up, or at best get some kind of a handle on how to make it work for us. I find your example of Brooks Jensen extremely interesting, and in fact it seems to point to the fact that I may have made the right decision. But as with most things, time will tell!

    Comment by kevmoore | November 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

