Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Return to Blue Odyssey

Kev enjoys a cold one at The Parrot Beach Cafe, Little Rock

When you take a break from a project to go off and do something else (in my case, heading off to France with Miki) it has its drawbacks as well as its advantages. It clears your head and recharges your batteries, but simultaneously removes you from the project, gives you distance. Now, this allows you a fresh perspective on your work, but also can cause you to feel a sense of detachment when you return to it.

I suffered from this in the first week or so since coming back to the studio, and couldn’t find the ‘spur’ to kick on again. Miki suggested that I check in with the various collaborators on the project, so I did just that, and late last night I received a wonderful contribution from legendary King Biscuit Time DJ ‘Sunshine’ Sonny Payne, which will feature on the track ‘Pass the Biscuits’ a homage to the Radio Station in one of the great blues centres, Helena, Arkansas.

Needless to say, Sonny’s enthusiasm, and KFFA’s generosity (for which I also must thank Rose Seaton) provided that very spur I needed, and this morning I went into the studio to work on piano tracks for the song.  In some days, the baton will pass to my friend Stefan Cybichowski over in the UK, who has agreed to put his distinctive drumming on it. So, ‘Pass the Biscuits’ will be a truly international collaboration!

You can listen to Sonny’s broadcasts by following the links at http://www.kffa.com

On a more sombre note, I want to mention the passing of Ronnie James Dio. One of the great, great rock vocalists, I’ve followed Ronnie’s career since his band Elf, subsequent appearance on Roger Glover’s  ‘Butterfly Ball’ LP, and of course, his fine work with Rainbow, Dio, Black Sabbath and Heaven and Hell. I never met him personally, but my friend Graham Oliver knew him , and jammed with Dio. He spoke very highly of him.  He finally succumbed to Stomach cancer on May 16th.  I offer my condolences to his family. Ronnie has finally caught the rainbow.

The Man on the Silver Mountain......

Kev Moore

May 19, 2010 - Posted by | Blue Odyssey CD, blues, Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Touring | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Kev,
    Happy Birthday for today fella! Great to hear you are getting back into the Blue Oyster project with a vengeance. Can’t wait to hear ‘Pass the biscuits’ and work out a drum part for it!

    BTW, I caught up with Fos last night (for the 1st time in 30 years) and we had a good time recalling the old Derby/Bristol days, we both missed you fella – we had a drink for you anyway – next time eh?

    Love to Miki,

    Cheers for now

    Stef

    Comment by Stef | May 20, 2010

  2. Hi Kev ,

    belated birthday wishes from me .I hope my mail found the way to you yesterday.

    Best wishes to Miki and you

    Rainer

    Comment by Rainer | May 21, 2010


Leave a Reply

