Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Funked up – Song for the Saints

I’ve done a rough mix of one of the tracks from the “Blue Odyssey” project – ‘Pass the Biscuits’ – and sent it over to my mate Stef for him to add his distinctive drumming to.  In the meantime, I’ve turned my attention to ‘Who Dat’ – which will be the second of three songs that relate to the New Orleans part of our journey around the Southern states.

It really is a vehicle for the chant of the New Orleans Saints American football team –who dat say dey gonna beat dem saints?!! and I wanted a N’awlins funk back drop to it.  A consequence of working with Stef again – some thirty-odd years later (!)  is a chance to revisit some strange time signatures and rhythms. Our old band Crosstown Traffic took such musical meanderings to the Nth. degree, and when I played some of the old tapes to my son Corey recently, he was blown away!

So yesterday I began to tack a passage onto the main funk theme where I can keep the listener guessing. We were always proud in the old days that people couldn’t dance to our stuff! This track promises to lull people into a false sense of security, then throw them for a loop just after the chorus. That’s the beauty of recording and releasing material on your own label – You can do any damn thing you want!

Kev Moore

May 26, 2010 - Posted by | Blue Odyssey CD, blues, Home Studio, Jazz Rock, Music, Recording, Writing | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hi! Kev: Just catching up on this side. Belated Happy Birthday! I see the Waffles are the reason to “The Pink House”. Hope they were all you expected. There is a small family run cafe at the corner down the street from me. I live in a very Residential area. Howerver, one block over is small stores and apartment housing. So, it is a mixed but wonderful area. “Christopher’s Cafe” has very good Waffles.
    Oh, yes, My son sent me some New Orleans things: A, “WHO DAT” sticker and a “Banner”, Beignet flour and Cafe Du Monde cups. Yummy eating and drinking here. Wondering what Your New Orleans songs will sound like.

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | May 31, 2010

  2. Welcome to Moore music Sherrie! Does your son live in New Orleans or was he just visiting? I LOVE beignets, we wanted to have some in the Cafe du monde, but we couldn’t handle the queue just to get a seat. We actually ended up having them at a New Orleans themed cafe on the boardwalk outside of Houston on the coast and they were dee-lish-ush!!! 🙂

    When the album’s near completion, I’ll post some samples of a few tracks on here.

    Comment by kevmoore | May 31, 2010

  3. Great about posting the songs here! Sorry, you did not wait out the Que or grab some to go! I always get Beignets. Cafe du Monde are out of this world. They cook them in Cottonseed oil. Everyone else uses vegetable oils. Which is fine – just not the same.
    No, My eldest is in DC right now, heading back to Afghanistan, and Brilund (works for Apple-just got the iPad, His Birthday is May 2nd.) lives here in Lynn, MA with me. Couple more years and I will be all alone. You, have to make do. My sons have friends from their University days at Christian Brothers University in Memphis TN. The two Brothers they knew were from New Orleans. You do not have to know anyone to go New Orleans, it is just something you do as a Southerner. I have been there many times and never feel like an outsider.

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | May 31, 2010

  4. Oh, by the way! I see the US VS Britian is on! Wonder who will win. The Brothers in New Orleans- there are four of them are originally from Nicaragua. They love the European Ball Games.

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | May 31, 2010


Leave a Reply

