Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Pass the Drumkit!

Drummer Stef Cybichowski - as he appears in his group comic - I kid you not!

Received a great surprise last night , in the form of my mate Stef’s completed drum track for “Pass the Biscuits” the tribute to King Biscuit Time and Sunshine Sonny Payne that will appear on my new album Blue Odyssey later this year.

It’s no surprise that Stef’s done a great job however – the track has come alive now he’s added his driving rhythms to it. I can’t tell you how much fun it is to be able to collaborate in this way, and I know Stef feels the same. I still marvel at the technology that allows us to do it.  I’ve already sent him the next track to begin work on!  His own band, Break for cover, have just returned from touring Holland, so he’s been a busy guy. His enthusiasm is invaluable in spurring me on to complete some of the last remaining tracks. I confess to being my own worst enemy here – I have an initial creative spurt where pretty much the whole project is sketched out in its entirety , which I take full advantage of, because I know my momentum slows a little as the project progresses.

The producer raises a hand in thanks to the drummer!

But listening back to Pass the Biscuits last night I was mightily pleased, the track really jumped out of the speakers at me – so, onto the next, with renewed enthusiasm!

Kev Moore

June 13, 2010 - Posted by | Blue Odyssey CD, blues, Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Writing | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Ha Ha! Thanks fella.
    I’m loving the ‘Who Dat’ track – it’s awesome!
    As always, it’s an amazing combination of different influences – but this concoction has got a beautifully solid Guitar/Bass funk feel with tempting ingredients of Santana, Steely Dan and even Al Di Meola guitar thrown in along the way! All stirred together like some tasty New Orleans gumbo recipe. I’m gonna have fun with this one!
    Love to Miki and take care fella!
    Stef

    Comment by Stef | June 13, 2010

  2. “A Gumbo of influences” has always been my curse, mate! -I think it’s why I like artists like Glenn Hughes and Dan Reed Network so much, because they refuse to be pigeonholed into one style.

    Comment by kevmoore | June 13, 2010

  3. Glad to hear!!!

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | June 13, 2010


Leave a Reply

