Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Standing, with Ovation

Kev 'n' The Boneyard

My recent musical collaborator Stef will be unsurprised to learn that I have become the proud owner of an Ovation electro/acoustic guitar. When we met up a few months back in our old home town of Derby, we spent a long time in the Acoustic guitar section of the local music shop, where I tried out a few, and we discussed the pros and cons of each.  The weak point in my ‘arsenal of guitars’ that I use in the studio has long been my Acoustic. It has a Schaller Oyster pick up on it, and while it sounds well enough played acoustically, it’s a big job to get anything sweet out of it in a recording environment. I shouldn’t wonder really, it was just a cheapie I bought as a songwriting tool a good few years back, and it doesn’t really like being electrified. (Do any of us?)

Anyway, my birthday came around and Miki was lovely enough to suggest one for my present, after she saw me mooning over a limited edition Ovation in my music catalogue.  Limited it certainly was – upon enquiry we discovered it might not be possible to get one until August, but we decided to order anyway and wait.  As luck would have it, it arrived this morning!   It’s one of four exclusive models (called The Demented Collection) commissioned for DJ Ashba, the current Guns’n’Roses guitarist, and fittingly, being as it is a present from an artist, each model features exclusive artwork. The one I chose features a piece by someone you may know as “The Olive Guy”. When I did my solo show on the ships, the Art exhibitions and auctions regularly featured work by him – Tipsy Olives drunk on the Martinis they were supposed to garnish!   The Olive guy’s real name is Michael Godard, and him and DJ are friends, hence the collaboration.  The model I have is called The Boneyard.  When I pulled it out of the case this morning and played just a couple of notes, Miki went ‘wow!’  She may not be a musician, but she has an extremely good ear. She was right, it just rang out. Lovely!

It’s a wonderful birthday present and one I’ll get pleasure from for the rest of my days. Thanks, Miki! Plus – it will now feature on the new album! You can see a video about The Demented Collection below:

Kev Moore

June 15, 2010 - Posted by | Artwork, Blue Odyssey CD, blues, Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Video, Writing | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Rock & Roll!

    Well done Miki – a perfect birthday pressie for the boy who has everything (well, he has now!)

    Love to ya both

    Stef x

    Comment by Stef | June 15, 2010

  2. Cheers mate! 🙂

    She sends her love and says she’ll be dropping you a line shortly. She’s had the idea for you and me to jam over here when you come over (my mate Mario’s got a kit) – I don’t she realizes she’ll not get us off the stage!

    Comment by kevmoore | June 15, 2010


Leave a Reply

