Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

How did that happen?

Josh Rowand

I was working yesterday on “XXX”. quite an involved track for the Blue Odyssey project, and I was kind of hitting a wall with it. I sat there noodling about on the guitar, and a riff came to me. By the end of the afternoon, I had another song for the project, appropriately entitled “Blue me away”!

I really feel the creative juices flowing right now, it’s great. I need to try and squeeze this onto the album, it’s looking like it will clock in at just under 80 minutes, which is the absolute max for a single CD, so any other ideas I have will have to wait for the next one!  The lyrics fit right in to the theme of the album – this one is about watching the bands down on Beale Street in Memphis during the International Blues Challenge, and in particular one guitarist who caught my eye (or should that be ear?) playing with the Nico Wayne Toussaint Band – Josh “Pitbull of Blues” Rowand.  He really had all the chops, and it’s always a pleasure to listen to someone who really knows their instrument.  He used the old trick of playing a solo with a bottle of beer, so I wrote that into the storyline of the song, I take him a beer, and instead of drinking it, he plays the solo with it!

I can’t claim to come anywhere near the standard of Josh’s playing, and although I got to compliment him on his set, I didn’t get to buy him a beer in real life, but well, if you’re reading this mate – you inspired a song!

Kev Moore

August 2, 2010 - Posted by | Blue Odyssey CD, blues, Home Studio, Music, Recording, Rock, Writing | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I just came across this article you wrote about Josh Rowand – my husband. I can’t wait to share it with him tonight. Also, Josh and his band “The Pitbull of Blues Band” will be competing in Memphis Feb 2012 IBC. Look them up if you will be there again. You can also look him up on http://www.thepitbullofblues.com. Thanks you for suck kind words! Regards, Marie Rowand

    Comment by Marie Rowand | November 21, 2011

  2. OOPS – That should be: Thank you for such kind words! :)) Marie Rowand

    Comment by Marie Rowand | November 21, 2011

  3. OOPS – That should be: THANK YOU FOR SUCH KIND WORDS!

    Comment by MARIE ROWAND | November 21, 2011

  4. Hi Marie – How cool you found the article. I’ve no doubt we’ll be back in Memphis one day, but probably not for the next IBC. Please wish Josh and his band the best of luck from me. He really is an outstanding musician.

    Comment by kevmoore | November 21, 2011


Leave a Reply

