Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

Another weekend away….

It was cooooold! Mike, Pete & me brave the elements...

This Friday saw me head off from Alicante via Palma, to Hamburg – where after being driven through that great city’s holiday traffic, I finally linked up with the rest of the guys in BC Sweet at the Radisson in Rostock.  About half an hour from there, we were booked to play at the “Rock in Runnige” festival. I only had around an hour to get myself showered (mainly to wake up) and meet the lads in the lobby before heading down to the sound check. As we were going to be eating courtesy of backstage catering, that would be where we stay until we’d done the show.

We were getting a little concerned about the food situation, having spied just a handful of open sandwiches, but , quite randomly, an English guy with a Yorkshire accent appeared and conjured up steak and chips!

It was cold, and it was wet, (the weather, not the meal) and as bad as it was for us on stage, it must’ve been a whole lot worse for the fans out in the field, but they bravely endured the elements and somehow, enjoyed the show.

Unanimously, we decided to leave the ‘field of battle’ as soon as we’d got changed, and headed back to the hotel. Ordering a coffee at the bar, I noticed it being propped up by more than just the usual German hotel clientele. It was pretty much a who’s who of British rock – and of course, The Monsters of British Rock were playing the festival the following night. There was Harry James from Thunder, Neil Murray and Micky Moody from Whitesnake, and Laurie Wisefield from Wishbone Ash.

It was great to meet Micky, a top bloke, and I had the opportunity, albeit a sad one, to tell him of the passing of a mutual friend. Keith Webb, drummer for Terry Reid, Donovan and Paladin, my good friend and near neighbour, was also a friend of Micky’s back in the day, when he was playing with SNAFU.  Keith sadly died a couple of years back, and I told Micky. He said what a great character Keith was, and how he could tell a great story, and indeed, he was right.  I was happy to be able to ‘complete the circle’ as it were.

Rather than post a video of our band on this article, it seems more appropriate to show you an example of Micky’s playing-particularly his wonderful slide style, and why he’s been at the top of his game for around 40 years.

Kev Moore

September 6, 2010 - Posted by | Music, Recording, Rock, Thoughts, Touring | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Slide and blues is ham and eggs . . . over any way you want em 🙂

    Comment by jammer5 | September 10, 2010

  2. You got that right, Jammer!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 10, 2010

  3. I remember when Sticky Fingers came out and I heard Ry Cooder for the first time. Thought I died and gone to heaven. Then the Allman brothers ate a peach, and I’ve been in love ever since.

    I just saw Robert Randolph and Jonny Lang live, now I got you tagged and I’m retired and listening to music every day, and grinning from ear to ear. Thank sittinpugs for pointing me this way, even though she doesn’t know it.

    I listen to jazz rock fusion a lot as well, and just got into a bass player named Tal Wilkenfeld , when she played with Jeff Beck. Ever heard of her, and are you into that genre at all? Just curious. Some of your riffs remind me of it.

    Comment by jammer5 | September 10, 2010

  4. Thanks for stopping by again Jammer. Tal Wilkenfield is just amazing – to come so far in such a short space of time. I have the live at Ronnie Scotts beck DVD on my wish list! I like a lot of jazz rock stuff, Colosseum 2 with Gary Moore, and some of the early Al di Meola stuff. I just recently hooked up with an old friend, a drummer, we’d been out of touch for 30 -odd years, and used to play in a band together, heavily influenced by that kind of thing, and on my forthcoming album, I have a track called “Who dat” which has a real off-the -wall section in it as a bit of a tribute to those days!

    Comment by kevmoore | September 11, 2010

  5. It was “Who dat” that made me think you did a bit of jazz/rock in you. Jeff’s gig at Ronnie Scott’s place was amazing. It’s on my list as well.

    Comment by jammer5 | September 11, 2010

  6. Opps, wrong piece. Funkktion was it. I don’t know where I thought it was the other. Too early, sigh . . .

    Comment by jammer5 | September 11, 2010

  7. You had me worried for a minute – Who dat’s not mixed yet! 🙂

    Comment by kevmoore | September 11, 2010


Leave a Reply

