Moore:Music ®

Witch Cross • BC Sweet • Gonads • Christie

It’s that Time(s) of the Day………

While there’s a bit of a lull on the gigging front (the calm before the storm!) I’ve been trying to help my partner Miki get more of her artwork online in video format. This has necessitated writing dedicated musical soundtracks – some of them of considerable length. The latest, for example, clocks in at just under 7 minutes, and is an accompaniment for her ‘Times of the day’ series – a huge body of work that depicts, in watercolours, exactly that, from dawn until nightfall and all points in between. I wanted to write something that, if you like, ‘followed’ the development of the day, starting understated, then building to a huge crescendo before finally falling away to single notes.  I’m quite happy with ‘A Journey through the day’ – as I’ve called it, as once again it pushes me compositionally, taking me way out of my comfort zone as a rock and pop writer, challenging me to build on a continuous theme over a long period of time while trying to (hopefully!) sustain interest in the piece.  Check out the video and soundtrack below:

Kev Moore

May 26, 2012 - Posted by | Artwork, Home Studio, Music, Recording, Thoughts, Video, Writing | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. As a (former) student of fine art and art appreciation, I thoroughly enjoyed viewing Miki’s watercolor creations. The music you composed, Kev, all fits elegantly within the succession of paintings being viewed! Truly an audio/visual union of artistic expression that I admire.

    Comment by Metal Odyssey | June 25, 2012

  2. Hey, thanks Stone – and I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to Miki, who as you can see- is clearly my artistic Muse!

    Comment by kevmoore | June 25, 2012


Leave a Reply

